Victory!

It’s official. After twenty minutes of staring at my computer screen and refreshing my Twitter feed until I felt like my eyes were melting, the federal court filing system confirmed that the motion to extend the stay on Proposition 8 has been denied (effective August 18).

This is a landmark victory for gay rights, and based on the cheers resonating from Ned‘s CBS courthouse coverage live stream, a plethora of fellow Californians share my excitement. We still have a ways to go, but every decision like Justice Walker’s brings us closer to equality. I’m more proud each day to work for a candidate willing to defend the rights of my fellow citizens.

Now, go forth and marry the person you love, if you so choose!

Photo by kuchingboy‘s Flickr stream.

Leave a comment

Filed under AG Wins

Leave a Reply

