A Great Day For California

Justice Walker’s decision to deem Prop 8 unconstitutional really hits home for me – my uncles, who have pretty much acted as my adoptive parents since I moved to the Bay Area, officially tied the knot during the five months gay marriage was legal in California. It was a beautiful wedding that moved me to tears.

My heart broke after the 2008 election when Prop 8 passed. My disappointment even clouded my excitement over the Obama victory. I didn’t understand why Californians could vote to blatantly take away the rights of a minority, especially rights exercised by two of my closest family members. All my uncles ever wanted was a chance to live together and love each other under the same benefits heterosexual married people enjoy.

That’s just one of the reasons why I’m so excited to be a part of Jerry Brown’s campaign. As attorney general, Jerry argued against Prop 8 in state court, because he, too, believes it unconstitutional. I’m proud to work for someone who is willing to go out on a limb for people like my uncles, who are discriminated against unfairly and unnecessarily.

A happy day for Californians, indeed!

My uncles and me at their wedding

2 Comments

Filed under AG Wins

2 responses to “A Great Day For California

  1. Richard

    I am so proud that we are finally moving in the right direction as a state. I almost wrote, “Living in California…pride returning” and quickly realized my unintentional pun re: Pride! But anyway, I am happy that there is hope for all same sex couples to be treated fairly and equally under protection of the law. And it is not surprising that the Meg machine had such amazingly insightful commentary on this development, “[Prop. 8] ruling is the first step in a process that will continue.”

    Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2010/08/04/MNQS1EOR3D.DTL&tsp=1#ixzz0vkXWSiw5

  2. JohnL

    It’s abuzz in Europe, too. I have to say – as misguided or slow as this country may be when it comes to recognizing fundamental rights, the courts eventually seem to be the saving grace (as long as the poor aren’t involved, unfortunately), and not just against the legislature, but also against that mob (which Meg is associated with) that tends to be a little slow and glows a horrid money-green. The California courts have recognized the social momentum building up behind gay rights (privacy rights, equality rights, property rights, due process rights) and have responded in kind. Dead-shot to the Supreme Court. It’s going to have to rely on Due Process, I believe, and Justice Kennedy might be that deciding vote again. Fortunately, he’s an advid traveler, and many other constitutional and international courts have already backed the cause.

Leave a Reply

